Welcome to Me and my child website, previously called Bubbahood

The Australian Dietary Guidelines

The Australian Dietary Guidelines

‘Eat for Health’ or the Australian Dietary Guidelines were reviewed and released in February 2013. The guidelines provide up to date information on the foods your toddler should be eating, so that they get enough of the nutrients that are essential for their healthy growth and development. It includes serving sizes based on your child’s age and gender, with the recommended portions offering a wide variety of foods to meet their dietary needs.

The Guidelines Are Based On Five Main Principles:

1. Achieve and maintain a healthy weight, be physically active and choose nutritious foods and drinks to meet your energy needs and to help your child grow and develop normally
2. Enjoy a wide variety of nutritious foods from the five food groups every day to provide your little one with a greater range of vitamins and minerals
3. Limit intake of foods containing saturated fat, added salt, added sugars and alcohol. Children require fat for good growth, however choosing unsaturated varieties and lean meat will assist with good health
4. Encourage, support and promote breastfeeding
5. Care for your food – prepare and store it safely – as little bodies are more susceptible to food poisoning.

If you would like more information about the guidelines, visit  https://www.eatforhealth.gov.au

Share this article